4 Things That Could Get You Arrested at the Beach

Photo courtesy Wikimedia Commons.

Now that the weather is warming up, New Jersey’s beaches are finally open for the season. While we are all entitled to have a little fun in the sun, there are laws to keep in mind. Here are four things that, while fun, could get you arrested at the beach.

Drinking too much. Most beaches in New Jersey have rules against drinking. There are exceptions, such as Gunnison Beach in Sandy Hook, and nearby North and South Beach. However, even then moderation is important as police can arrest you for public intoxication if they feel you are a danger to yourself or others. The good news is that the state does not prosecute public intoxication — you’ll only be in protective custody until you sober up.

Wearing too little. Most beaches in New Jersey do not allow nudity (Gunnison Beach in Sandy Hook is again the exception). Failure to cover up properly could result in a charge of lewdness or indecent exposure. Lewdness is a disorderly persons offense and is punishable by up to 30 days in jail and a fine of up to $1,000. However, if the incident was witnessed by someone under the age of 13, it becomes a charge of indecent exposure and the consequences increase to 18 months in prison and up to $10,000 in fines.

Bringing man’s best friend. Most Jerseyans know that dogs are not allowed on the beach during peak season (although some, like Sunset Beach in Cape May, allow dogs during the off-season). Out-of-towners, however, don’t always realize that. Penalties vary from beach to beach, and most of the time the result is a fine rather than arrest. However, those fines can be steep. For example, a ticket from the City of North Wildwood could cost you for up to $1,250 for playing a game of beach Frisbee with Rover.

Leaving a mess. Have a great time, but be sure to put your trash and recyclables in the appropriate bins. Leaving litter on the beach can result in a fine of up $500 in some parts of New Jersey, with a possibility of up to 40 hours of community service. However, a second conviction for littering within six months jacks up the fine to as much as $1,000 with the potential for up to 60 days in jail.

If you or a loved one gets arrested or fined for lewdness, littering, or any other beach-related crime in New Jersey, contact an attorney to help you sail out of trouble. The lawyers of the Rosenblum Law are skilled criminal defense attorneys with experience helping people in similar situations. Email Rosenblum Law or call 888-815-3649 today for a free consultation about your case.

Call Us
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap